top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Ellison

Contribution to Learning: 5304 & 5317

During my 5304 and 5317 courses, I was a part of two groups and we communicated through GroupMe to collaborate and answer questions with one another.


Group Members:


  • Brian, Kathia, Kyna, and Caitlyn

  • Hannah, Jessica B., John, Lisa, Amanda, Nyjah, and Allison

Starting this semester, I knew it would be a challenge with the new school year starting but I grossly underestimated how challenging it would be. I know I have said before how important it was to have a group to collaborate with, but that statement rings even more true now than ever before. In 5317, collaboration was a key component in each of the assignments. In 5317, as a group, we would share our publication outline

and rough drafts with one another and provide feedback. I was able to provide feedback to each person that shared their rough draft with me. We also created a rubric to provide a scaffold for our grading and feedback.



I feel like this made it a little less stressful when working on the final draft because I had received so much useful feedback from my peers. In 5317, a few of my group members


got together to collaborate on our podcast and it was so much fun to actually get to see these people and talk with them in detail about our thoughts on various topics. This collaboration spilled over into 5304 as well. Each week we would talk in our text groups about the assignments and clarify any confusion we may have had about an assignment.


Throughout the week, I would complete the readings and watch the videos on each

module to deepen my understanding of the content for that week. I would also attend weekly meetings or watch the recordings the next day when they were posted and ask my group questions if I was confused about anything. The weekly meetings are so important for staying on the right track in this program. The feedback that was received for submitted assignments was also very helpful and I was able to go back and make adjustments on multiple assignments such as My Why, Influencer Strategy, Four Disciplines of Execution, and my Publication Article. I truly appreciate the amount of feedback that is received in this program. I feel like I am given the opportunity to grow!

The discussion boards also provide good insight to the topics for the week. It is a chance to see how others are processing the information. Being able to see other students that are not in my core group is also really neat to see. It is always so cool to see all of the different perspectives on the exact same video. I made sure that I did post on each discussion board for both classes. An area of growth for myself next semester is to make sure that I am getting each one posted in a timely manner and try to respond to more classmates each week.




Podcast Screenshot retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irwRfm3JeR8

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Journey So Far...

When I first started out in the ADL program and learned about the COVA method, I remember feeling really intimidated and almost...

Comments


bottom of page