top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Ellison

The Power of Words


This video is very eye-opening. The situation in the video didn’t change but a simple change in the words changed people’s behavior. Emotions are strong and I know I am guilty of ignoring things when all that is presented is information. Information is good and has to be there to back up any type of change or plan but it will not usually change someone’s mind. Your heart has to be behind the decision. In the case of the Power of Words video, the change of phrasing pulled on some heartstrings, which caused more people to respond. I noticed it in myself while watching. When I first saw his sign I thought about how things must be tough not being able to see but that was about where it stopped. After reading the sign at the end of the video if felt an emotional response, I felt sad, and the sense that I would absolutely help the man if I had read that sign.


This made me realize that when making my video, I can’t just give the facts but also have to bring an emotional standpoint in as well. I’m not sure how I am going to do this but it does give me some food for thought. It may be a challenge but targeting hearts, supported by information will be my goal.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Journey So Far...

When I first started out in the ADL program and learned about the COVA method, I remember feeling really intimidated and almost...

Comments


bottom of page