top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Ellison

The Power of Social Influence



We have all heard that phrase "well if your friends jumped off a cliff, would you do it too?" and of course the resounding answer should be "no" but from what research tells us, social influences have a stronghold on us! Now maybe jumping off of a cliff is a little extreme but from watching both videos, you can see how social interaction can influence the behavior of people. As much as we want to say we are individual thinkers, we are impacted by our peers. Just think of the "trends" that float around on social media, especially on platforms like TikTok. We've all heard the dangerous things that teens and even some adults try when they see it online. If you haven't heard of the Crate Challenge yet then you should look it up. But also, in a not-so-dangerous way, my husband is a part of an online BBQ community and the new tricks and recipes that he gathers from his peers in that group influence what and how he cooks. We are creatures of influence.


I am still trying to wrap my head around how I am going to be this pillar of influential change for my school but I do feel like I am starting to learn the tools that I need. My hope is that I can get teachers on board with me. I am honestly seeing a lot of burnout on both the teacher and the student side and it is still very early in the year. I am hoping that by getting a few teachers on board and receiving feedback from them, I can convince other teachers to join in on my innovation plan.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Journey So Far...

When I first started out in the ADL program and learned about the COVA method, I remember feeling really intimidated and almost...

Comments


bottom of page