top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Ellison

Crucial Conversations and Leadership




As I have learned more about becoming an effective leader, there was something that struck a chord with me. I have always been one to avoid conflict or any conversation that may even possibly lead to conflict. That anxiety is something that I am going to have to set aside when wanting to become a leader and have those crucial conversations that need to be had. This is something that I have had to try and come to terms with while reading the book. I will have to work on not taking things personally and keeping my emotions in check when having these crucial conversations that will inevitably come up when I and implementing my innovation plan, and just throughout life in general.

I remember when a colleague of mine read Crucial Conversations a few years ago and she explained how it changed her outlook and she immediately put it to use in her professional and personal life. I remember thinking how awesome this book must be if it is having such a positive impact on her, but I never got around to reading it because I was pulled back into the whirlwind. I believe that being a self differentiated leader that is able to have crucial conversations is the key to success no matter what your role might be.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Journey So Far...

When I first started out in the ADL program and learned about the COVA method, I remember feeling really intimidated and almost...

Comments


bottom of page