top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Ellison

Communication is Key

If you would have asked me if I am an innovative teacher before reading the article, I would have said YES! But after reading it, it did cause me to reflect some. While I do critically look at the curriculum I receive from my district, I feel like I could do more. When I look at the lessons given, I will change them to make them more meaningful and applicable to my students. The curriculum for my district covers over a dozen different middle schools that are on different ends of the spectrum so what works for one may not work for another. But after reading the article it makes me ask myself, what next steps could I take to push my lessons up to that next level to where my students are truly making a difference with the content they are receiving in my classroom.


Under-communication is something that can be incredibly frustrating. This is something that I have had to deal with heavily in the past year and it can be frustrating and cause large amounts of unneeded stress. Communication with your coworkers and/or your students is something that should be a priority. By communicating on a continuous basis you are showing that you are being transparent and that what you are doing is important. If someone knows the "why" behind doing something then they will be more likely to "buy-in" to what you are trying to get across to them. Using a wide assortment of technologies and vehicles can be an important tool as well. This can ensure that the message reaches the appropriate audience.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Journey So Far...

When I first started out in the ADL program and learned about the COVA method, I remember feeling really intimidated and almost...

Comments


bottom of page