top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Ellison

Aligning Outcomes, Assessment, and Activities

Updated: Jul 13, 2021

When creating significant learning environments, one of the primary goals is to make a lasting change to the learner's life (Fink, 2003, p. 3). Thoughtful planning is also required and is carried out by the alignment of outcomes, assessments, and activities. These parts have to be aligned in more than just content; these perspectives are foundational knowledge, application, integration, human dimension/caring, and learning how to learn. By using this guide created by L. Dee Fink, and implementing backward design, teachers can help create significant learning with their students that will stick with them and help foster the characteristics of a lifelong learner.


This authentic learning shifts the focus from content to context. I have developed a plan for the Human Impact unit in my 7th-grade science class based on the model that Fink developed. This unit plan is designed to be used collectively with my innovation proposal of Blended Learning. Many activities throughout this unit can be complemented by the use of blended learning and the rotation model. By giving students the opportunity to create their own learning through this project, they will also be able to set their own path and pace. In doing this, I hope to bring a sense of choice, ownership, and voice to their learning. When planning this unit I began with the end in mind and reflected on what my students need to walk away with. This practice is necessary and is something that I bring to all of my lessons in my classroom. By using backward design, I can see my destination and create a path to it. This helps avoid any wandering in a direction that does not create significant learning and also makes the best use of the precious, little time I have with my students.


3 Column Table:


Learning Environment, Situational Factors, and Questions to Consider:

These worksheets helped me map out my thinking when creating my 3 column table for this unit.

​Fink, L. D. (2003). A Self-Directed Guide to Designing Courses for Significant Learning. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.


Fink, L. D. (2003). What is “significant learning”? Retrieved from https://www.academia.edu/32341334/WHAT_IS_SIGNIFICANT_LEARNING_

Harapnuik, D. (2015). Connecting the dots vs. collecting the dots [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=85XpexQy68g



Recent Posts

See All

The Journey So Far...

When I first started out in the ADL program and learned about the COVA method, I remember feeling really intimidated and almost...

Comments


bottom of page