top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Ellison

PLNs

Updated: May 16, 2021

I did not believe I was in PLNs anymore. I used to be involved in quite a few at one time but for personal reasons, I logged off of social media for a while and uninstalled all the apps. I haven't found much of a need to go back so I have been unplugged from them for a while. This has encouraged me to find other options for PLNs besides just social media. I saw some others talk about blog posts and podcasts. I have also thought about starting up a new Twitter account again just for professional use.


I understand the value of a PLN. It is always good to have a group of people to throw ideas around with. I feel like educators are so amazing at sharing ideas and resources and that is something that can be found in PLNs. Up until now, I feel like I have been more of a consumer rather than a contributor. It really hasn't been about not wanted to share ideas, but more of a confidence problem. I would catch myself thinking, "no one will think this is a good idea" or "no one is going to care about your suggestion." But I have learned in the recent past that some of the ideas I decide to share can be useful for someone else. And what is the harm in just sharing it? I have always been such an advocate for collaboration in the classroom, now I'm seeing I should have the same passion for collaboration among professionals.


I have already picked out a few more PLNs I would like to check out by reading other's posts and I cannot wait to get started!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Journey So Far...

When I first started out in the ADL program and learned about the COVA method, I remember feeling really intimidated and almost...

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page